Instinct


Plays an important part in the Fit Life.

This includes all types of training, whether a swimmer, a marathon runner or weight-lifter. Instincts come in handy for every aspect of anybody’s life, but this is for a different post folks!  There have been uh many of times when my body, my mind and my spirit were telling me to slow the fuck down when it comes to the brink of overtraining or pushing against the injury rate I’ve already assembled.

And did I listen to most of those signals even when they were clear as a hard penis to my face?  No!  And did I slow down my ego when I knew that I would get caught in a nerve pinch performing a Rear Delt exercise?  No!  And when I fucked up my elbow, with pain shooting up the underside of my forearm, did I stop training?  NOPE!  My instincts were telling me I needed to lay off my arm for months.  Eventually I had no choice but to give my arms a rest for 4-6 months.  What discouragement!

A setback during this time was a complete understatement.

Many days, many months, I’ve trained through injury, believing if athletes were doing it and my favorite bodybuilder role-model was doing it, well, it was okay for me to do it too.  Nope!  Uh-uh!  What kind of thinking was this?  The idiot kind probably?  I don’t own conditioning and rehabilitate coaches like the superstar million dollars of the world.  No one pays me to be on the television or to be on billboards.  I’m not on a cover of a magazine or bending over backwards in order to continue to keep my sponsors.

I had to admit to myself:  I’m not an athlete!  But I play one in my head.

A new instinct tells me…

I no longer need to perform endless sets to get to the definition I desire or the pump I live for.  For I have reach one of the ultimate levels that anyone with a Fit Life would hope, wish and desire to obtain.  I’ am officially official with the great mind/body connection I’ve been striving and focusing on for years.  I’m officially official with going mind deep into my fibers.  And boy how hard they contract!  Hours later, days later, the intense tightness feeling, the ball of dense muscle comes to fulfill my being with how much they work together, compact.  I can make any light weight feel heavy and this is without trying and without intensity.

And only someone true to how I’ am with this Lifestyle understands my happiness.  Oh the roads we go down.  Negative to Positive.

Pennington

2 thoughts on “Instinct

  1. Listening to your body, that’s it, isn’t it? I used to push myself to the point of injury. Or be so overzealous that I overdid it. I learned! Cuz all I want to do is lift weights, and if I freaking overdo it or don’t listen to my body then I don’t get to lift weights. They usually are like a hard penis in the face, nice analogy. Wow, weights even feel like that actually. Nice post babe. When do we get to see a picture of you?

    Like

    1. Hey Love. Thanks for stopping by first off. 🙂 It truly is about listening to your body. Being keen, in tune. The word you mention: Overzealous. That’s it! And just like you, lifting weights is all I want all the time. And then over do it and poof. Weight are out of the question. Glad you like my analogy. And I appreciate you stopping by and reading my thoughts and actually commenting. It means a lot. So thank you. I have photos all over TwitPic. And my other blog. But I will add one on here for you very soon. Will subscribe to you blog now. Thanks again. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

