Jump Jump!


Jump your heart out!  Jump all the demons about!

Since I’ve been a bit limited on what I can do (upper body wise)..I’ve entered Cardio in the form of Intervals using a jump rope.  This has skyrocketed my heart rate as usual and has brought me back to the state I like to be with when it comes to my beats per minute.  I tend to be anal about this especially if I feel I’m lacking on my endurance and stamina for any reason at all.  No one likes to feel out of shape, gasping for air when they’re performing cardio, even those who are out of shape..( <–those just tend to be more comfortable with the idea).

Last night I broke the record, going from 182bpm to 205 MAX a few days later!  I was quite happy, amused and felt accomplished.  And as my teacher always said in fifth grade “Whenever you do something great or get an answer right don’t forget to pat yourself on the back.  Never ever be afraid or embarrass to pat yourself on the back.”  So I patted.  I wish I remembered this teacher’s name.  I wish he knew that years later I could still think back and thank him for filling my ears with esteem.

I digress. 

Why have I been jumping rope in the first place?  The first reason is due to the fact I’ve been training my Legs quite hard to where it takes me 2-4 days to recover.  So going to the gym to perform steady state cardio for a whole 40 minutes to an hour just seems a bit pointless, not to mention extra pain with all the stretching, contracting and sitting or standing on all types of machines.  To counter this and to up the intensity out of the gym and shorten the duration, I decided to purchase a jump rope for home.

Now this rope has been a charm to an extent, okay!  It’s fantastic in the sense that it revs up your engine and literally can burn up to 1000 calories in a whole hour.  In 15 minutes you can burn 300-500 calories.  All a big dependent on how much work and effort you’re willing to put in.  Probably the best thing with the jump rope is the ability to take it just about anywhere with you.  Just drop it in your bag and go to a park, go into the street or in the lobby of your building and rope the bitch out.  This is perfect!  Not for nothing, you know how resistance bands are awesome for putting in your bag when you’re traveling..well, what can beat a jump rope for extra cardiovascular work?  Nothing!

Not to mention jump rope teaches you how to balance, remain in one steady spot, enhances your agility, endurance, stamina, coordination, timing and rhythm.  And, yes it can be quite fun, especially when you have flashbacks of jumping-rope with the neighborhood kids!  One of the things that makes jump-roping fun is being able to perform many different variations and tricks once you get into the rhythm of the rope dance.  I like to do small lunges, hop side to side, skip jumping forward/backwards, hopping on one foot then switching as if I’m doing a standing calf raise, to jumping jacks (where you’re opening and closing your legs in and out).

Some of my goals with the rope is to be able to perform:  The criss-cross, double and triple jumps.  Also to be in top condition with my rounds being 3 minutes on for jumping and 1 minute for resting and repeating this for 30 minutes straight.  What are we without little simple goals? 😉

The many variations of jumping rope make it fun as hell.  Plus this makes the time go by quick especially when you’re doing 30 second intervals and 30 seconds rest for 15-20 minutes.  I may do 2 sessions of this in a day with a smile on my face because I know that a cardio equipment can’t burn nearly as much as a jump rope (except running…but who wants to run with sore ass glutes and legs? ).

But because in my head I envision myself to be an athlete..a boxer..another MMA champion training for an upcoming title when I’m performing with the rope…why not make a whole game out of it? ..WHEN I CAN….because it makes everything better…because motivation works however one can make it so.  Whatever works for you I always say.  Now here are some awesome videos of some cool ass tricks that are beyond my thought process starting with this guy:

Now take a look at the Jump Rope Championships.  This left my mouth wide open.  How the hell?  What I truly wonder is how many years does it take to practice this and be this FUCKING GOOD?  Not good.  But FUCKING AMAZING!  Note this is a TEAM!  They make it look effortless.  DOH!  I completely admire their amazing ability.  I mean, I can’t even imagine how much dedication and discipline this took?  How many fucking years?

Did you enjoy it? 

So far I notice a few different things with rope jumping.. like how it tends to be hard on the ankles and feet especially if you’re upping the rope turns in full speed.  When beginning to jump rope I do not recommend to do it more than 2 times a week or over 15-20 minutes at a time, unless you’re a runner and have built up the foot and ankle muscles.  Building up these foot muscles tend to take at least 3-4 weeks.

Many people will say it’s easy to jump rope.  But this isn’t so.. for the people who don’t have good timing or have a hard time receiving shock from their ankles and shins.  Sure when you feel the shock, you may or may not feel it at the given moment.  But trust me when I say the very next day you may very well feel it in each of your metatarsals and wonder in the beginning, “What made me decide to jump rope so vigorously?”  O for the love!

Don’t try to be a boxer.  But enjoy the dance of the rope.  Just vibe to it like a jam you love from the youthful childhood days.  Give way!

Pennington

Leave a Reply

