My Number Zero War Hero



If you’ll have me in your care again, with open arms, you would perform the greatest charm.  Like lips that are chapped, you’re my balm.  Like an faithful follower, you’re my psalm.  I’m water misbehaving.  But like the calm mood of wind only you can save me.  I’m everything and more:  Your war lady.

I’d really love to nuzzle my head in your chest to feel once again what it’s like to be loved by the best.  I crave the feel of your heavy world, how your heartbeats talk in my ear with kindness of rhythm and love and breath.  Honey if you ever leave, I’d have nothing left.

Caress my strands and brush them with forgiveness.  With you, it’s vivid how within every minute I’ve been swept like the many times before.  Like how you picked me up and out of my own living debt of death.  It’s true you’re my safety net.

Take me please and erase the other man’s residue from my body and matte hair.  Only you can fire my soul bare.  Only you can send the rays of light and care of flirty bounce to my tresses with loving prayers.  You clean my air.  Nothing else will ever compare.

How could I ever leave you?
My true love.
My number zero war hero.
I shed my clues in every breakthrough.

Who would take me with all my imperfections?
Who would study my micro expressions?
Who would love me in my dark sections?

You see and love me in all my
Twisted infinite perfections.

-Pennington

Leave a Reply

