Fracture Fibula


The findings:

Oblique fracture of the distal fibular metaphysis with approximately 5mm posterior displacement of the distal fracture fragment and 4mm medial displacement of the proximal fibular shaft. Widening syndesmosis. Tibiotalar subluxation. And more.

How did this occur?

Longboarding. I became overzealous in furthering beginner progression. Despite wrapped fear around my neck, I over rode with bravery when the board decided to slip from under me. The ankle caught under my other leg and as I fell my bodyweight landed heavy and moody. Ankle twisted and became deformed. Instantly I knew it broke. In a collective moment I tried to straighten my leg and attempted to twist out the ankle. Time became nonexistent. Everything was present in slow motion.

What now? 

Waiting on surgery. The first surgeon decided to tell me he couldn’t assist me because they don’t take my insurance. A full 8 days wasted after showing up in his office. I enjoyed how in the surgeon’s mind it was okay to make a person travel with no access to a car or wheelchair all the way to his office just to hear a no.

Evidently, he’s never had a broken ankle as he would have been better empathetic and understood how difficult and how mentally frightening it is to travel by and with crutches. Aside from this, I’m reminded how cruel the world is and how money rules without question of morals and how poor people get treated unfairly without a quiver of emotion. I now await another surgeon.

Mood: Somewhat stable with a side of delirium. The positive light in my gas tank is fading (somewhat). Still strong in other ways. Still blessed for those taking care of me, for continual healing, for people’s prayers and all the works that go unseen behind the scenes.

To be continued…

-Pennington

One thought on “Fracture Fibula

  1. I can speak to this. I lost 2 years of my training life due to a skydiving accident. One day I was squatting, the next I was confined to bed for 9 months with another year and half in recovery.

    There is no way to prepare for the psychology behind this. I can say that it will give you an appreciation for other things, and future training.

    All I can say is hang in there. It will pass. You will be back to big weights again because you want it more than most.

    Sounds clichΓ©, but I was TRULY told that I would walk with a limp and never exercise again. Twenty years after that accident I’m as strong as ever, training daily, and grateful that my will is stronger than a doctor’s generic opinion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

